top of page

UNDERRATED RESTAURANTS IN CANTERBURY

Canterbury is a city filled with hidden gems; gift shops you stroll past, pubs you don’t notice, and restaurants you didn’t even know existed. I’ve happily stumbled upon three restaurants that are the definition of hidden gems.

Lanna

2 Dover Street, CT1 3HD, 01227 462876

When it comes to food quality, I don’t think I’ve ever had better Thai food (let it be noted I’ve yet to travel to actual Thailand). Having dined both in and out of the restaurant, I have two very different (but wonderful) experiences of the restaurant. Eating in is brilliant because you are surrounded by beautiful decor and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Plus, as a student it is lovely to eat out at an affordable independent restaurant (as opposed to the many, many chains that one may consider easier). Having also ordered takeaway from this restaurant, I must confirm that the food quality does not decrease one iota. The food is as delicious in the comfort of your own home as it is within the restaurant, and you don’t need to dig too deep into your student loan to enjoy a lovely meal. Between 12pm and 3pm, Lanna serves eat-in main courses for the reduced price of £6.50 per meal, which is a deal definitely worth taking advantage of!

Affordability: 4/5

Food Quality: 5/5

Location: 4/5 (a tad further from campus, but well worth the distance)

Pinocchio’s

64 Castle Street, CT1 2PY, 01227 457538

What can I say about this restaurant that will do it justice! I have only been once, but I fully intend to go back when I can. This lovely Italian restaurant was stumbled upon by myself and my family when we were looking for somewhere for dinner back in September. The staff are incredibly friendly, and we even had the chef come out to check on us, which provided a wonderfully personal experience. We had a main course of a pizza each, and I do remember it being a little beyond the usual stretch of a student’s wallet, but it is definitely a place worth treating yourself to. The food quality is wonderful, the service impeccable, and the atmosphere extremely friendly and inviting; I truly felt as though I had somehow stumbled into a restaurant in the middle of Rome. The decor is understated (but pretty) and only adds to the experience. Overall, a lovely place for a meal.

Affordability: 3/5

Food Quality: 5/5

Location: 4/5 (hidden from the usual high street restaurants, but easy enough to find on Google Maps)

Photo by www.indexdigital.co.uk

Poppies Restaurant

52 St. Peters Street, CT1 2BE, 01227 769301

I have nothing but praise for Poppies; the food is excellent and well within the range of a student budget. It boasts a delicious breakfast and lunch menu, and having had both, I have to say, both are absolutely lovely. It isn’t high end or fancy, but it’s perfect if you’re meeting someone for a casual catch-up, or simply need somewhere to eat good food. Having never had a hangover myself, I can’t be a judge, but I imagine that their food is also perfect for curing the troubles caused by a heavy night out. The decor is pretty and quirky, and certainly brightens up an otherwise grey day, especially the way the weather has been lately! On the whole, good, traditionally British cuisine, for an extremely affordable price.

Affordability: 5/5

Food Quality: 5/5

Location: 5/5 (located in the centre of the high street, a short walk from Westgate.)

Photo by www.tripadvisor.co.uk

Featured Posts

Comments

Share your thoughts

bottom of page