top of page

Men's Hockey are confident for Varsity


"We are heading into it with some real confidence that we can emulate last year’s result again this year"

- Ben Landymore

With a great start to the BUCS season last term with only one loss, Men's Hockey are prepped for Varsity. According to the chairman of the club, he believes that this varsity will have good results. A positive outlook on the season.

Men’s Hockey – Ben Landymore (Chairman)

"I’m excited to head into my final varsity. We’ve had a strong season so far with lots of positive results so we are heading into it with some real confidence that we can emulate last year’s result again this year. In my first year of Hockey, we lost 2-1 Varsity and last year we won 8-2, so it’s very mixed. We are in really high spirit as a team, we’ve bonded well over the last few months and are ready for what’s ahead of us. As always, we are in it to win it. We are a well organised and strong defensive team that’s up for the challenge we are posed by Christ Church’s attack."

One word for Varsity: Tradition

Men's Hockey - Ben Hahn (2nd Team Captain) "The best goal that I've ever seen scored by my team would be in my 2nd year against Essex 1’s. Quick counter from their long corner, Piers (former Captain) aerials it up the pitch where I’m waiting with my strike partner Connor Jury, alongside 2 Essex defenders. Connor takes the ball on the volley, his miss-control is my gain. As it bounces off his stick I managed to lob it over the defenders and out pace them to tap in a 1v1 with their keeper. That goal or the winner Percy (also former captain) scored in Varsity last year after coming back from 2-0 down to win 3-2. Our worst dressed player is Harry Donnelly, and our fastest player has to be myself.

Our best team moment was the Varsity win of 2017-18, but our worst team moment was relegation from the South-Eastern 2B. Or our Varsity loss. I am feeling nervous but extremely excited for Varsity this year. I've won one and I've lost one. Let's make it a win. Well I’ve been paying attention to their league progress this year and they’ve done well. We’re yet to find our footing but we are a few leagues above. Then again league progress means nothing in a grudge match like this, I think we’ll edge it out to get the win.

One word for Varsity: Determination

Featured Posts

Comments

Share your thoughts

bottom of page