top of page

Team Kent Ball: The Results


On the 30th March 2019 Kent sports teams came together for a night of fun and celebration at the Team Kent Ball.

Team Kent Ball takes place every year to celebrate the hard work of sports teams and sporting individuals for all their many contributions to Kent this year.

Nine awards were given out over the course of the evening, presented by Sports VP Emily Window who opened the evening with a speech reflecting on the past year and her experiences as Sports VP.

A three course meal was served and guests enjoyed live music and a photo booth until it was time for the awards to be given out.

As the awards were given out the many tables of sports teams fell silent as Emily announced the winners.

Below are the winners of the all the awards and a few words from some of the winning individuals/teams:

Sportswoman of the Year - Rebecca Haffer, Karate

1. Could you tell us a little about what you’ve achieved this year?

This year I've had my most successful year on the international circuit, winning the WUKF Senior European Heavyweight title in Malta 2018, as well as winning a another gold and a silver in the team events and a bronze in kata (choreographed movements). Unfortunately I was injured in Malta, so I had to take some time out; but I was back for BUCS in February and won two bronze medals, as well as qualifying for the EUSA European Combat Games which are taking place in Croatia this summer.

2. What were your first thoughts when you won?

I couldn't believe it when I was told that I had won. My injury has caused my confidence to take a huge knock this year, so it was genuinely a positive shock to be given this award.

3. Do you plan on taking your sport further?

I'd love to continue competing on the international circuit, and after my success at the Europeans, I'd love to repeat that at a World Championships. Unfortunately the Olympic future of Karate isn't particularly certain at the moment, so for now my goal is World medals.

4. Is there anyone you’d like to thank after your award?

There are so many people to thank for so many things. In terms of competition, my coaches and instructors at my home club - Glen Middleton and Julia Heenan - I could not have gotten through that competition without their support. At university, the support I've had around me is genuinely second to none. The karate team here have supported me so much, but special thanks have to go to my strength and conditioning coaches Ben and Gavin, and also Mike and Jeni, who have been there for me constantly and helped me through injuries and supported me when it's been tough.

5. One word to sum up your sport experience at Kent?

Unforgettable (I don't want to leave)

Outstanding Administrator of the Year - Melissa Childs, Rowing

1. Could you tell us a little about what you’ve achieved this year?

This year the rowing club has made some big changes by moving boathouses to the lake. These improved facilities have allowed our crews to have better access to training, coaching as well as more water time which has meant more success for our teams at races and events. It has been very exciting to be a part of the committee that has overseen and aided this change for the rowing club and I have welcomed the opportunity to learn how to best work in an administrative role.

2. What were your first thoughts when you won?

I was very honoured considering that I was within a category of some excellent candidates! Being a part of a sports committee takes up a lot of your time and effort, as I'm sure anyone who is will agree. Therefore, I'm very appreciative and thankful that my hard work has been recognised by those who nominated me.

3. Is there anyone you’d like to thank after your award?

I would like to say a big thank you to the rest of the rowing committee and especially Isaac, our chairman, who is always on hand to help out and who dedicates many hours of his time to the running of the club. A big thank you also to Helen and Ryan at Kent Union who I have had correspondence with since coming into my role and who have helped me with various things along the way. And lastly to our rowing club members, without whom we would have nothing to strive for as a committee.

4. One word to sum up your sport experience at Kent?

Gratifying

Outstanding Achievement - Women’s Lacrosse 1sts

1. Could you tell us a little about what you’ve achieved this year?

Captain of the team, Emma Kathryn: The team this year has gone undefeated, going 10-0 in league play and finishing top of the league with a 150 goal differential. With this, we are being promoted to the 1A league. We made it to the semi finals of the Conference Cup as well as winning Varsity. I think the Women's 1st team went undefeated because we were very much a team. Our team chemistry was unbelievable, we all instantly trusted one another and were always so supportive of each other which is so important when playing a team sport. As well, everyone showed up to trainings with the mindset to work hard and it showed in games.

2. What were your first thoughts when you won?

I was so excited when we won the award. I think my first thought was holy smokes we did it! The team deserves this award so much for all their hard work this year so I was very very happy. I am so proud of all of the girls for what we accomplished this year.

3. Is there anyone you’d like to thank after your award?

I would definitely like to give a shoutout to the entire 1st team for just being amazing this year and working so hard. My vice captain, Millie Pattinson, for all her support and hard work she put into the team. Also to last year's captains, Gaby Valentine and Isabella Ebdon-Price as they worked tirelessly last year to solidify our stick skills and our understanding of lacrosse which we've carried onto this year, leading to our success.

4. One word to sum up your sport experience at Kent?

There's so many words I would use to sum up our experience this year at Kent, but I'll go with amazing

Sportsman of the Year - Pat Stillman, Fencing

1. Could you tell us a little about what you’ve achieved this year?

This year I’ve achieved a fair amount on the competitive circuit, I’ve been travelling a lot to compete around the country at larger events to really push myself, and as well as winning the BUCS conference Cup with the Men’s 1st team, I’m also Kent County Champion. My main achievements this year however have all been part of my role as president of the club, overseeing a club that this year won two league titles and a cup across three teams has been incredible. So has being part of the development of so many of our fencers, who have gone on to achieve so much. I get so excited when I see them doing well, a win for them is a win for me too.

2. What were your first thoughts when you won?

Probably something along the lines of “oh shit, what am I gonna say up there?” I was absolutely thrilled to win it, and I think the screams from the fencing table showed that they were as well!

3. Do you plan on taking your sport further?

I’m gonna see how far I can go these next few years, I’d like to compete internationally at some point in the next two seasons. I’d also like to get further refereeing and coaching qualifications so I can keep giving back to my sport in years to come.

4. Is there anyone you’d like to thank after your award?

Everyone at UKC fencing, they’ve been outstanding this year. It’s the end of my second year as president and we’ve achieved more as a club than I could ever have hoped.

5. One word to sum up your sport experience at Kent?

Immense.

Club of the Year - Rugby

1. Could you tell us a little about what you’ve achieved this year?

The club has had a good year on and off the pitch. The 1s and 2s both narrowly missed out on promotion finishing second in the league, and the 3s and 4s both put in some massive results against the best teams in the league. Off the pitch we have tried to do as much charity work as possible, including Movember, charity games, and charity raffles, all in honour of men's mental health, which is something that everyone in the club is very passionate about.

2. What were your first thoughts when you won?

I was in shock, not a single person in the club was expecting to win the award. I was just thinking I am so proud of everything the club has done this year.

3. Do you plan on taking your sport further?

Massive shout out to my committee that have worked so hard this year. Also a big shoutout to Helen, Ryan, Emily and Tom, and for the help from Kent Union - both Clive and Tom for helping with fixtures and facilities.

4. One word to sum up the year?

Charity

Team of the Year - Women’s Fencing

Outstanding Individual - Birgit Burk, Tennis

Spirit of Sport - Lucy Sheldrick, Trampolining

Novice of the Year - Kiera Pascua, Ice Hockey

Featured Posts

Comments

Share your thoughts

bottom of page