top of page

Having a birthday in lockdown


Image courtesy of Yahoo

To anyone having a birthday under the current Lockdown, I feel you. Mine was 8 April and, if I am perfectly honest, I was not as excited as I usually am. But it was not all doom and gloom as there are pros and cons to having a lockdown birthday. Take note those readers who do not have a birthday in lockdown, get ready to make a huge fuss over the ones who do.

Con: Some don’t remember

No one knows what day of the week it is, let alone the date. Weekdays have now disappeared and been replaced by ‘Lockdown Day 5’. “Isn’t it your birthday soon?” “Yup, yesterday.” An interaction experienced by many of those birthday boys and girls in lockdown.

Pro: You treasure those who do remember

Whether it’s the friend who makes you a birthday video or family member who sends you a bouquet of flowers, it means even more to you then it usually would.

Con: You can’t see anyone

As an individual who craves social interaction, being limited to only seeing a household royally sucks. Yes, your parents are cute and will try to make it nice for you, but not seeing other family and friends isn’t ideal. One of my favourite things about birthdays was walking down the social corridor or university campus and having people you know shout “happy birthday!” as you strut wearing your birthday badge (yes, I am one of those people).

Pro: ZOOM birthday parties are hilarious

Blowing out my birthday cake candles while on a zoom call to my family was a highlight. Especially when your Grandma is sat there spouting, “what does this button do?”

Con: Morale for the build-up is low

Blowing out the candles on a cake doesn’t quite feel real with all that’s going on at the moment. No one is at their best, that’s for sure and, although it’s important to remain positive, opening presents fills me with a sense of guilt for those who are struggling.

Pro: Morale doesn’t have to be low

Although I was originally dreading my birthday, the day itself was one of my favourites. Talking to my Grandma through the window and playing charades was a lot of fun. As well as group birthday calls from my friends, which really boosted spirits.

Con: You can’t wear your presents anywhere

If you get a gift that’s a Switch Game or any kind of playing device, you’re set. But, if you’re like me and some of your presents consists of a) Clothes, b) Makeup, or c) or any other fashion related item, you’re going to have to wait for quite a while to wear that brand-new suede skirt you were given.

Pro: You don’t have to feel guilty about spending loads doing online shopping

Browsing for hours on end looking for new stuff to buy felt a lot better knowing that I was compensating for my lockdown birthday.

Having a birthday in Lockdown makes you realise who really cares about you. Those are the ones who make the extra special effort, the ones who send you cute videos, cards, even soppy long messages saying what a great friend you are. Those are the ones to hang on for, and treasure for life.

Featured Posts

Comments

Share your thoughts

bottom of page