top of page

Long Read: UKC Israel and Palestine students share their views on the ongoing conflict

Shaghayegh Ghezelayagh 21 September 2021


This article consists of interviews concerning the complicated Israel/Palestine situation. For many years, Israel and Palestine have been in dispute over land which has resulted in many socio-political issues, most notably the recent news of the eviction of the citizens of Sheikh Al-Jarrah, a neighbourhood in Jerusalem. InQuire hopes that this article shines a light on the perspectives of those affected by the situation.


The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the interviewees and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of InQuire Media.


These interviews were conducted by an Iranian student at The University of Kent with ties to neither Palestine nor Israel.


Although these interviews involve two Jewish women and four Palestinian men, the interviewer tried to obtain an equal ratio of views, but due to a variety of reasons this was not possible.


For the safety of those interviewed, names have been replaced with letters, with little description of the interviewees as possible.

Images courtesy of Unsplash (Chris Hearn and Yousef Salhamoud )


‘I have non-Jewish people throw anti-Semitic slurs at me’


F, a second-year student at The University of Kent, is from a Jewish background, though British by passport. She discusses her connection with Israel, the unequal power balance between Israel and Palestine, and the anti-Semitism she faces.


Have you ever lived in Israel? Do you feel a connection to that land?


F: No, I haven’t, though I do have family there. I feel a deep connection with Israel though, as someone who is indigenous to the land. I am Jewish – if persecution ever gets bad enough, I know I have a home to go to. I know I would be accepted there, and that gives me a feeling of comfort.


Is there a lot of misinformation surrounding the Israel-Palestine situation?


Oh definitely. The biggest issue is people insinuating that Jewish people hate Palestinians, which is definitely not true, and I suppose painting the conflict as a religious or ethnic one, when it’s really a dispute over land. There’s also the concept that every Jewish person agrees with what is happening in Israel, which is a dangerous rhetoric.


[She hesitates.] ‘Embrace the stranger’. That is what they tell us in Judaism. The Torah tells us to not kill, not rape, not steal, and all of this is happening by the hands of the government.


As people who have been strangers many times, Palestine once embraced us and let us in their home. A treaty was signed, a deal was made, yet all the rules have been broken.


Though there is violence from both sides, there is no denying that a power imbalance exists. The Israeli government is much stronger and has more resources which is backed up by powerful western countries.


So, would you believe in a two-state solution?


It seems like the solution that would be most possible really. Israelis have a right to be there, Palestinians have a right to be there, no one has a right to force the other out of their land. I am definitely Pro-Palestine and Pro-Israel – these are not mutually exclusive.


Are your views popular in your community?


[F stops before answering. I give her a minute.] Many Jewish people disagree with me or call me a traitor, but I still believe the Jewish community should strengthen, because we need better unity. I have non-Jewish people throw anti-Semitic slurs at me, even comparing me to Hitler.


And how does that make you feel?


[She shrugs.] I’ve accepted that this is how it will always be. It’s a double-edged sword. You cannot please everyone; you can only save yourself.


I say the word ‘Israel’ to you. What does this word mean?


[F pauses for a second.]: Home. That’s what I’d say. Homeland. It’s where I belong. It’s where I’m native to. It’s where I know I’ll be accepted. And that’s all there really is to it.


‘You have nothing to lose. I have everything’


R is a third-year student at The University of Kent. She has a pretty necklace on. I look closely and see the Star of David. R opens up about her experiences as Jewish person outside of Israel, her thoughts on a two-state solution, and the danger of misinformation.


What is your connection with Israel? Do you live there?


[R smiles and shakes her head.]: No, though I’ve visited plenty of times. My mother’s side of the family lives there though. [She pauses.] Is it strange to say I have a special connection with Israel though? As a Jewish person in the diaspora, it always feels as if the Western world conflicts with you.


It’s just so comforting knowing that there is a home away from home, where I can go to if persecution gets bad enough. It’s almost spiritual. You understand what I mean?


[I nod my head. I know exactly what she means.] How do you feel about a two-state solution?


Honestly, when I was younger, I believed in it. Now, I’m unsure. One thing I know is I and many other Jewish people just want peace. But there can never be peace without co-existence, especially if everyone is trying to make enemies out of people who are brothers.


Israelis aren’t going anywhere, nor are Palestinians. Instead of adding fuel to the fire, we need to unify and fix problems.


Is misinformation about what is happening between Palestine and Israel being spread?


Absolutely. People are creating more friction between Jewish people and Palestinians and painting us out to hate each other – which is not true at all.


You go on your phone. The explore page on Instagram shows you a six-page infographic about the conflict with no context whatsoever. You proceed to post it on your story anyways and put your phone back in your pocket. Do you even bother to educate yourself on the matter? Have you spoken to the people affected?


I personally haven’t really spoken up on the matter – mainly because I’m scared. There is so much anti-Semitism and it’s only getting worse. Many people blame you for the problem, then remove your right to a narrative or a defence. There’s no way I can win here.


What do you think would help most in a sensitive situation like this?


In most cases where there is an oppressed group and oppressor, people need to speak up. However, this situation is complicated. The politics in these two countries are much more than they seem.


I wish people in the diaspora would realise that instead of speaking over us, they need to give us a voice and a platform instead. [She stops. The smile has faltered slightly.] You need to understand you have nothing to lose. I have everything.


I say the word Israel to you. What does this word mean?

[R grins broadly for the first time.]: Is it cheesy to say home?

Image courtesy of Unsplash (Shai Pal)


‘I’ve never been so proud of being Palestinian’


B, A third-year student at The University of Kent, explains his connection with Palestine, the consequences of spreading fake news, and the importance of continuing the conversation surrounding Palestine and Israel.


What is your connection with Palestine?


B: Having never lived in Palestine, I always struggled to feel Palestinian. My identity really strengthened when I came to university and met so many other Palestinians.


Is there is misinformation being spread about the conflict?


Misinformation isn’t really the best word. [He shrugs.] Point of views are all different and people have their own analysis of everything, especially in situations like this conflict. You hear different things from both sides, and you can never control the masses. That’s the beauty of freedom of speech. You should be able to make judgment on your own.”


However, I do think there is an issue of fake news. So many news sites are just reporting incorrect information and that’s causing issues. When you have that much power, you should accept the responsibility to show the truth.


How do you feel about a two-state solution?


Palestine, as it was, as it always has been and always will be. However, anyone who wants Jewish people gone from Palestine is clearly not educated on the land itself. I truly believe that Israel’s government isn’t a good representation of Judaism. Jewish people are not to blame. As a matter of fact, remove the religion from the government. Everything makes more sense.


But there’s a famous saying. There may never be progress in a decade, but there can be a decade’s progress in a week. I am Palestinian. I deserve to be recognised in my own land. This is the first time in my life I’ve ever seen so much support. The first time in 73 years. Maybe. I don’t know.


The Middle East almost has a fundamental issue of ruling themselves. Our countries keep meddling and messing up everything, and we are victims to this meddling. You should know.


Let me tell you something else. [He comes close to the screen.] This issue will never be solved in my lifetime. Nor will it be solved in yours


Should we continue to create awareness of the conflict between Palestine and Israel?


Definitely. Don’t stop. Keep your foot on the gas, and don’t lift it till we get somewhere.


What is the first thing you think of when you hear ‘Palestine’?


It means resistance. Pride. Tremendous pride. Destroy all the houses and hospitals you want, but you will never break the Palestinian spirit. I’ve never been so proud of being Palestinian.

Image courtesy of Unsplash (Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona)


‘I hope there comes a day when we can all live together in peace again’


F, a first-year student, discusses the London pro-Palestine protests and the importance of separate social movements.


Do you have any family that live in Palestine?


F: My grandparents all lived in Palestine, mainly Ramallah and Bethlehem, and some in Jerusalem. Their children all lived there for a good part of their lives. My father was a refugee in Jordan for a while, but he received a scholarship to study at their university and later became a citizen.


What was the protest in London like?


It was incredible, I tell you. I’d do it again. Even Jeremy Corbyn showed up!


What do you think about how information is being spread on social media?


There’s too much misinformation. Way too much. Big news sites posted a death toll in Israel, talking about Hamas. That death toll was actually in Palestine. They all retracted their statements, but it just shows how easily they can make mistakes and get away with it. This is one example; I cannot even tell you what else exists.


I see people try to compare our struggle with other minority groups or group us all together. Whilst I appreciate the solidarity, we are all different people facing different things. You can’t just put us all in a box. Don’t take away from the movements of other people. We all deserve our own autonomy.


How do you feel about the ongoing situation between Israel and Palestine?


I’ll be honest with you. I’ve spent a year learning about war crimes, about the UN, about colonialism. It’s all happening, and yet no one cares. I was born in Saudi Arabia. Lived in Jordan. I am Palestinian with no proof on the paper. Tell everyone about the conflict. Tell them both sides. Be honest. You will see that they often side with us.


For so long, Jewish people and Christians lived with us in peace and harmony. So, when someone tries to insinuate that this co-existence never existed in Palestine, it’s just not right. We are all the children of Abraham and we lived together in peace. [He hesitates.] I hope there comes a day when we can all live together in peace again.


I say ‘Palestine’. What is the first thing you think of?


A lot. The first thing? First actual thing? Green land. An olive tree. A bench with a family. It’s a good day. I hope I sit on that bench with my family.


‘People are getting scared. But at least they’re waking up’


Z and S are the last to be interviewed. Both are second-year students at The University of Kent. They tell me of the protests in Jordan, in which tens of thousands of Jordanians marched to the Israeli border in support of Palestine on 14 May. Jordan was one of the first countries to provide refuge to Palestinians after the first exile, known as the Nakba of 1948, thus many Jordanian nationals hold Palestinian heritage.


What is your connection with Palestine?


S: I’ve never been to Palestine, though I hold a Jordanian passport. I still feel an attachment. Does that make sense? One never forgets their homeland. [The adhan, Islamic call to prayer, suddenly interrupts him. We laugh it off.] We both have family in Palestine. Spread all over. Our current families reside in Jordan. A large population of Jordan is Palestinian, but there is still racial discrimination here and there.


What about misinformation over Palestine and Israel?


S: There is also so much focus on what Palestine is doing to Israel, when people completely ignore what Israel has done. I’m not trying to say tit-for-tat, but there is a massive power imbalance. One country has almost nothing, whilst the other is funded by the biggest Western countries. We all want peace, but when even fellow Arab countries ally with Israel and deny Palestine, how are we supposed to feel?


How do you feel about a two-state solution?


Z: I honestly disagree with it. For so long, Jewish people lived together with us peacefully. We still don’t want them to leave. They have a right to co-exist with us. We just want our homes back. Is that too much?


Overall, what do you think about the situation between Palestine and Israel?


Z: I don’t know how we can be honest. Our seminar leaders speak about war crimes and human rights, but no one ever speaks about Palestine.


I used to see so many social media posts about what is happening in Palestine. Now I hardly see anything. Activists are being silenced on Twitter. [He shrugs.] Politics. But I’m grateful. Social media is helping raise awareness.


We’re shaking the table. People are getting scared. But at least they’re waking up.


S: We as Muslims accept Jewish people’s religion, just as we accept Christianity. We’re all children of Abraham. It makes us feel bad to see people hate them unfairly. People need to stop associating them with their governments.


I say Palestine. What’s the first thing that comes to mind?


Z: Home. Our origin, our roots, our culture. It’s everything you know. It’s been taken away. We can never have it.


S: There are no words to describe what I feel towards Palestine. We never lived there. We were born after the conflict started. But we still have that sense of attachment to Palestine. A high sense of patriotism to Palestine as well. As Palestinians who have never been there, we just remind ourselves of the cause. We were taught to have principles. That’s ours. If human beings live without principles, what are you living for then?

Image courtesy of Unsplash (Raimond Klavins)


It is nearly 5:00 AM and B's interview is the last to be transcribed. The sun creeps over the Canterbury fields. I close my eyes and lay back, thinking about everything I had heard. I was a stranger to these six people a week ago. And now I’m their confidante. The onus is heavy on my shoulders.


In my Farsi tongue we say, ‘Siasat pedar o madar nadarad,’ meaning that politics has no mother nor father. It has no morals, no principles, and no sense of right and wrong. I carry this phrase in the English world. However, it doesn’t always have to be this way.


Humans have an inner moral sense of right and wrong, and the urge to serve justice. Sometimes we may not have the power to change everything. We have to accept that. But that doesn’t mean we can’t change anything at all.


I think about what B said: 'Keep your foot on the gas. And don’t lift it till we get somewhere. There may never be progress in a decade, but there can be a decade’s progress in a week.'



Commentaires

Les commentaires n'ont pas pu être chargés.
Il semble qu'un problème technique est survenu. Veuillez essayer de vous reconnecter ou d'actualiser la page.

Featured Posts

Comments

Share your thoughts

bottom of page