top of page

Zack Snyder’s Justice League: First Impressions

By Armaan Latif 13 April 2021


Image Courtesy of HBO Max


My friends, it has finally arrived. After years of anticipation, with a production history that is nothing short of legendary, the worldwide release of Zack Snyder’s Justice League is well and truly underway.


I’ve only watched it once so far, but ideally, I’d watch it a couple more times before writing about it because it is after all, a four-hour movie. I’m a final year Philosophy student, I’ve got crying to do. I’ll keep this review brief and spoiler free (relatively spoiler free, it really depends on what you consider spoilers to be). The movie is shot beautifully, its truly poetry in motion. The action is fantastic – dynamic, loud and bold. It’s clear that a lot of thought went into how these characters were going to be brought to life. It’s clear that a lot of thought went into how this cinematic universe was going to be brought to life; Zack Snyder’s vision is concrete. Obviously, it goes without saying that this movie puts its predecessor, the cursed Whedon 2017 theatrical cut, to shame. I was, however, surprised by what footage appeared in both. Although the plot is much more cohesive and the characters a lot more fleshed out, the two films are bizarrely similar – alternatives in a multiverse. But! Make no mistake, this is a completely different film, and the viewer is being introduced to this world for the first time.


Flash and Cyborg are incredible, the VFX for the two was done superbly and it was always awesome when they were on screen. Victor Stone’s backstory is really harrowing, and this movie does the character justice. Ezra Miller’s Barry Allen is a mash-up of characteristics from Bart and Wally but in the end really comes together to give a compelling Flash. Batman has moments of sheer bad assery but I found it hard to really get behind this version of Affleck’s Bruce. I loved him in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, I guess I’m just a sucker for a brooding Wayne.


I have my qualms, in fact, whilst watching it I was nit-picking like a manic but in retrospect I think I was being excessively harsh. My expectations for this movie were very high and honestly to ask for anything more, I think, would be greedy. Although, there is one particular critique that I feel justified in holding; there’s this new bit at the beginning of Wonder Woman’s theme that is so weird, and it plays all the time. But, besides that, it’s a solid blockbuster superhero movie. I’m re-watching some of the fight scenes whilst I’m writing this and truly, it is an epic film. Especially considered in the context of how it came to be - it’s beautiful.

Zack Snyder's Justice League is available to watch via Now TV and Sky Cinema.

Comments


Featured Posts

Comments

Share your thoughts

bottom of page